The City Blues Quartet

The City Blues Quartet is a multi-award-winning series of novels plotting the intertwined history of Jazz and the Mob through six decades in the 20th century.


In an Oulipo-inspired writing constraint, each of the four parts is based around a different city, decade, season, weather, song and theme. These (excluding the theme) are outlined below…

BookThe Axeman's JazzDead Man's BluesThe Mobster's LamentSunset Swing
CityNew OrleansChicagoNew YorkLos Angeles
SongThe Mysterious Axeman's JazzWest End BluesRelaxin' At CamarilloAlone Together


The Axeman’s Jazz – Book 1 of The City Blues Quartet

Dead Man’s Blues – Book 2 of The City Blues Quartet

The Mobster’s Lament – Book 3 of The City Blues Quartet

Sunset Swing – Book 4 of The City Blues Quartet

Scroll to Top